Book Review: Astray by Emma Donoghue

astray

Rating: 3.5 / 5

After falling in love with Room, I knew that I’d have to read any work by Emma Donoghue.  Astray is a collection of short stories about people leaving, arriving, and in transit from one place to another.  While each story is rooted in a news article, Donoghue takes liberties with the storytelling and bringing characters to life.  The stories that I enjoyed the most were The Widow’s Cruse, The Gift, The Lost Seed, and The Hunt.  The main characters in these stories were conniving, manipulation, heartbroken, delusional, and fragile.

In general I’m not a fan of short stories, for I feel that by the time I’m vested in the plot and/or characters, the story is finished and I’m left wondering what happens next.  However, I did enjoy these stories, and like most collection of short stories, some stories appealed more than others.

I give Donoghue a lot of credit for being wildly creative and weaving these stories from a couple of articles about each subject.  She was also true to the linguistic nuances of the characters and geographic locations, which I admire.  So even though short stories are not my cup of tea, I have to admit I did enjoy Astray.

Leave a Reply

