Book Review: Truth Stained Lies by Terri Blackstock

truth stained

Rating: 2 / 5

Jay and his soon to be ex-wife Annalee are locked in a messy divorce and custody battle.  One afternoon, Jay finds Annalee murdered in her bathtub, but instead of focusing on finding the real killer, the police think Jay killed her. Jay’s sisters, Cathy, Holly, and Juliet know he would never have killed Annalee, and with the help of family friend Michael Hogan, they investigate the killing.

I thought the premise of the novel was great, but the execution fell short of my expectations. There wasn’t much character development, and I felt like this wasn’t the first novel in a series, but somewhere in between.  It took me a while to figure out the dynamics between Holly and her sisters, and the backstory of Cathy’s fiancée, who was gunned down.  Part of the reason I also did not enjoy this book is because it is Christian fiction, and this genre does not appeal to me. I felt at times that Blackstock was overly preachy, but again it could be because I don’t read this genre.  Also, it was a little too ridiculous and Keystone Kops-like to suit me.  I’m just not sure about getting an afternoon’s worth of lessons and then being dubbed “private investigators” helping solve a mystery.

This was definitely an easy and light read, but it just didn’t do anything for me.

Leave a Reply

